Rockwell Award Recipients

Meet Those Honored With The Rockwell Award

The Rockwell Award recognizes individuals who have contributed to the industry as an inspirational leader, and a person of great accomplishment. The recipient has made lasting and significant contributions within radio, and also to the public radio serves.


Past Rockwell Award recipients:

North Dakota Broadcaster, Dan Brannan (1989)

Conclave founder, Doug Lee & Iowa Broadcaster Peter McLane (1990)

Wisconsin Broadcaster, Jonathan Little (1991)

Air Talent, Charlie Bush (1992)

Record Industry Icons, Charlie Minor & Joe Ianello (1993)

Minneapolis Radio Executive, Tac Hammer (1994)

Small-market advocate and Group Owner, Dean Sorenson (1995)

Radio Executive, David Martin (1996)

Gavin’s, Ron Fell (1997)

Broadcast Executive, Larry Bentson (1998)

Programmer/Morning Man, Bob Beck & Rock Programmer, Doug Sorensen (1999)

Emmis President, Rick Cummings (2000)

Radio’s “Best Friend,” Art Vuolo, Jr. (2001)

Specs Howard, Dick Kernen & Brown College, Mike Kronforst (2002)

All President/Publisher, Joel Denver & Broadcaster/Record Executive, Steve Ellis (2003)

Programmers Mike McVay & Al Casey (2004)

Radio/Record Executive, Dave “Duke” Sholin (2005)

Broadcast Executive, Rob Sisco (2006)

Radio Advertising Bureau’s President, Erica Farber (2007)

Envision Radio/CEO, Danno Wolkoff (2008)

CEO, Amplifi Media, Steve Goldstein and Consultant, Kipper McGee (2009)

Author/Consultant, Valerie Geller (2010)

Former CBS Radio President, Dan Mason & Legendary Programmer, Steve Rivers (2011)

President, Jacobs Media, Fred Jacobs & Mediabase Founder, Rich Meyer (2012)

Albright, O’Malley & Brenner/President, Jaye Albright & Conclave Exec. Dir. Emeritus, Tom Kay (2013)

Hubbard/CEO, Ginny Morris (2014)

NRG Media Pres. / CEO, Mary Quass & Founder, Vallie, Richards, Donovan Consulting and The National Radio Talent System, Dan Vallie (2015)

President / CEO Midwest Communications, Duke Wright (2016)

AccuRadio COO/Chairman, John Gehron (2017)

Entercom COO, Weezie Kramer (2018)

Jacobs Media / jacAPPS President, Paul Jacobs (2019)

The Rockwell Award was created in 1989 as a tribute to longtime Conclave Board member and Wisconsin radio owner/operator/morning man, Mike Rockwell.